Toggle accessibility panel
Alt 0
Accessibility settingsAlt S
Top accessibility panelAlt 1
Right accessibility panelAlt 2
Bottom accessibility panelAlt 3
Left accessibility panelAlt 4
Show keyboard shortcuts accessibility panelAlt 5
Toggle keyboard shortcuts accessibility panelAlt 6
Reset all accessibilityAlt Q
Change font sizeAlt A
Increase font sizeAlt +
Reset font sizeAlt X
Decrease font sizeAlt -
Change line height Alt H
Increase line heightAlt U
Reset line heightAlt J
Decrease line heightAlt M
Change letter spacingAlt >
Increase letter spacingAlt R
Reset letter spacingAlt F
Decrease letter spacingAlt V
Change word spacingAlt <
Increase word spacingAlt E
Reset word spacingAlt D
Decrease word spacingAlt C
Readable fontAlt G
Highlight titles Alt T
Text zoomAlt Z
Invert colorsAlt I
Bright contrastAlt W
Dark contrast Alt B
Keyboard navigationAlt K
Big white cursor Alt Y
Big black cursor Alt N
Prevent animationAlt P
Skip to page content

This is a list of the heads of state of Uganda, from the independence of Uganda in 1962 to the present day.

From 1962 to 1963, the head of state under the Uganda Independence Act 1962 was the Queen of Uganda, Elizabeth II, who was also monarch of the other Commonwealth realms. The Queen was represented in Uganda by a Governor-General. Uganda became a republic under the Constitution of 1963, when the Monarch and Governor-General were replaced by a ceremonial President, which was replaced by an executive presidency in 1966.

The succession to the throne was the same as the succession to the British throne.

The Governor-General was the representative of the Ugandan monarch in Uganda and exercised most of the powers of the Monarch. The Governor-General was appointed for an indefinite term, serving at the pleasure of the Monarch, and was appointed solely on the advice of the Cabinet of Uganda without the involvement of the British government. In the event of a vacancy, the Chief Justice served as Officer Administering the Government.

Under the 1963 Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, the president replaced the monarch as ceremonial head of state. The president and vice-president were elected by the National Assembly for a 5-year term from among the traditional rulers and constitutional heads of districts.

In 1966, the powers of the president were increased, with the establishment of the executive presidency, but the same rules applied concerning the vacancy of the president. It also applied to the 1967 and 1995 Constitutions.

General (later field marshal) Idi Amin led a 1971 coup d’état that overthrew President Obote and his government and installed Amin as president.

General Bazilio Olara-Okello led a coup d’état that overthrew President Obote and his government. Following the coup, Okello proclaimed himself president.

Under the constitution of Uganda, the president is the executive head of state. The president is elected by popular vote for a five-year term. In the event of a vacancy, the vice president served as acting president.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *