According to the precious elections result, the people of Luweero district have, for the first time in the history since 1986 when President Museveni took over power, elected an LCV chairperson from an opposition party.

The result from the electoral Commission according to Wednesday’s election confirms Erustus Kibirango of the National Unity Platform as the LCV winner, Luweero district. This makes Kibiriango the fifth chairperson for Luweero district since 1986.

Erustus polled 44,206 votes, representing 59.2% of the valid count. He was followed by NRM’s Uthman Kamoga Juuko who garnered 17,094 votes representing 22.8% of the valid count.

Erustus in his remarks said he will cooperate with the current government to deliver services to the people no matter being from NUP.

NUP also took 11 of the 27 district councillor positions from the just concluded elections. The NRM attained 5 seats, FDC got 3 while 8 others were independent candidates.

NUP also dominated in Luweero’s parliamentary elections taking all 4 constituencies.

Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.